There used to be a magnificent tower in Tibetan style, called Buddha's Residence Tower, in the Rear Hill area of Summer Palace. It was burnt down by the allied forces of Great Britain and France in 1860 but has been rebuilt in recent years.
The Buddha's Residence Tower is surrounded by pagodas. On the left is the Treasurehouse Pagoda of Glazed Tiles built in the 18th century. On the right is a Lamaist pagoda which has been renovated only recently.
Foxiang (Buddha Fragrance) Pavilion
It stands on a 21-meter-high stone terrace on the sheer front side of the Longevity Hill. It overlooks Kunming Lake in front and Zhihuihai Buddha Hall in the back. Other buildings stretch on either side of it in a neat symmetrical pattern. The tower was burnt down by British and French soldiers in 1860 and a new one was built on the site later.