The Temple of Heaven, a place where the earthly ruler talks to the heavenly emperor
Double-Circle Longevity Pavilion
The pavilion was originally built in 1741 by Emperor Qian Long to celebrate his Mother's 50th birthday in the Imperial Palace. In 1977 it was relocated in a cypress grove on the western side of the hall of prayer for Good Harvest. It is a master piece of wooden structures from ancient times.
appendix1: The Temple of Earth
Built in 1530, the Temple of Earth in the northern part of beijing has square altars and walls in line with the ancient chinese concept of a square earth. The high terrace on the left is the Altar of Earth,
while the two square stone terraces on the right represent the country's great mountains and rivers respectively, as indicated by the carvings on them.
|The observatory inside Jianguomen (Gate of National Reconstruction) was built in 1279. Of the 15 astronomical instruments originally kept there, seven were moved to the Zijinshan (Purple Gold Mountain) Observatory in Nanjing in 1931. The eight instruments remaining here were manufactured in the 17th and 18th centuries.|
|Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 |